Forgot username or password?  |  Create a CME account

Government’s steps towards strategic procurement a win for Saskatchewan manufacturers: Lothian

Published by CME Staff on March 27, 2015

The following statement was released by Derek Lothian, Vice President, Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters (CME), and Executive Director, Saskatchewan Manufacturing Council:

On behalf of Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters and the 40-plus leading executives comprising the Saskatchewan Manufacturing Council, I commend Minister Wyant and the Government of Saskatchewan on their initial steps towards the development of a strategic procurement policy that promotes fairness and competitive reciprocity for Saskatchewan manufacturers, as well as best value for Saskatchewan taxpayers.

Procurement is both a large and delicate file to navigate. While there is much more work to be done, the action plan set out by Minister Wyant  through Priority Saskatchewan  addresses the core recommendations CME has made to government, and charts a clear path forward for timely implementation.

We are especially pleased with the Province's intentions to strengthen the recognition of vendor performance and corporate citizenship. These are fundamental benchmarks and global best practices in the area of procurement, and must be an ongoing part of Crown and government supplier strategies.

Simply put: Saskatchewan manufacturers are world-class, and we believe in our ability to compete with the world's best. Today's announcement is about laying the groundwork for Saskatchewan companies to better prepare for and tap into domestic business opportunities  all while ensuring external markets remain open and accessible. 

As we move into the next phase of this initiative, it is vital that industry continues to have a voice around the table, and that the Province remains committed to consulting with and working alongside businesses to execute this action plan and manufacture Saskatchewan's future.  

Found in: news cmenews

Ottawa Web Design

National Office

Alberta British Columbia
Manitoba New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia
Ontario Québec
Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan